suffocation in the midst of trees

 

My brain is foggy and overwhelmed. There are puddles everywhere and between the gray sky and heavy smog, I can’t make out anything. All I can see are thin, tall, blurry green blobs that extend to the sky. The fog wraps around the skinny trunks of these trees.

I started off running but the longer I ran the farther I went in this forest. The more trees appeared, the heavier and lower the clouds, the blurrier the trees, and the more damp the fallen leaves became.

Spinning in circles, I look for clarity in any direction so I can continue on. Nothing.

lost.

It feels like this blurry, foggy forest is getting closer and enclosing me. I can’t get out. My heartbeat is getting faster and I crumble. Screaming at the top of my lungs and sobbing at the suffocation of these trees and immobility.

Where are you, God?

Leave a comment