Vibrant Lies/Vibrant Lives

Reality seems to be the dirty rocks, dry leaves, and broken earth. My view is full of mundane lives, especially mine. Empty passions, empty words, and empty actions that are permeated with hypocrisy. I speak of passion but do I act on it? I speak of hope but do I believe it? I speak of love but do I have it? Lives permeated with apathy and passivity, especially mine.

Yet, even in the middle of all of this; the apathy, the hypocrisy, the passivity. There is action, authenticity, and truth without compromise. Where there is joy, someone always seems to be slipping me depression. But where there is depression Jesus is yelling joy, offering it to me in surplus; more than I could ever imagine.

But faithfulness is something I lack and while there is a never ending pool of joy, I can’t stay focused enough to realize it.

So I’ll keep this flower as a reminder. A reminder that when depression is screaming and joy is whispering and when joy is loud and depression is planning his next attack, I will remain faithful to hope. Even when I don’t feel hope and even when I don’t feel like believing in hope and even on the worst days when I can’t fathom hope, he is always faithful.

Leave a comment